Feb. 26th, 2010

primaleph: (Default)
Anyone who's ever played in a Vampire: the Masquerade LARP, particularly with the Camarilla, and most especially if you played a Ravnos, I could use your help. The Cam is starting a new old-world Vampire chronicle, for which the rules addendum has already been released. Submissions from players to alter or fix things in the addendum that don't work well are welcome, but first they need to be reviewed and commented on by as many people as possible... that's where I need some help. 

I've written up a proposal to greatly expand the description of Chimerstry, so that it's able to be run fairly and in a standardized way rather than leaving it up to storytellers who may hate it or not know / care how to run it well. As written right now in the addendum, Chimerstry can't mimic any power the Ravnos doesn't personally possess, so I've rewritten that part as well, since it makes Chimerstry useless for creating any kind of supernatural effect - there's a power for nearly everything.

Here is what I have so far:


a.Chimerstry cannot mimic the effect of any Obfuscate power, nor can it directly change the appearance of any character. However, Chimerstry can be used to create self-contained illusions with any appearance the user wishes, or with no visual component at all. It can also create items that characters may carry, or clothing characters may wear, which could indirectly change their appearance.

b.Chimerstry may be used to mimic the effects of other powers, provided the character has personally experienced them or has enough Lore to know about them, and the player notifies the presiding ST that he intends to mimic a specific power. Illusions created solely from the player’s imagination will not be recognizable as a specific power unless your character has the appropriate level of Lore. Illusions of a particular power or supernatural creature created without enough of the appropriate Lore will be instantly suspect to someone with that Lore (or someone who has the real power), and could create a valid reason for disbelief.

c.Chimerstry, unlike Obfuscate, does affect cameras and other visual or auditory sensing devices. It does not affect trip wires or pressure sensors.

d.A Storyteller or Narrator (not a player) should always announce Chimerstry effects, to prevent out-of-game knowledge from being a factor in disbelief challenges. If the illusion is of a character, that character's player should portray the illusion whenever possible.

e.A Storyteller may choose give the Derangement “Dissociative Perceptions Syndrome” (Clanbook: Ravnos Revised, p. XX) to any character who frequently overuses Chimerstry.

f.Ignis Fatuus and Fata Morgana: You do not need to defeat an opponent in a Social Challenge to activate these powers. Pay the cost listed and the illusion springs into life, visible or otherwise sensible by anyone present. If a character has a valid reason to disbelieve the illusion, they may attempt a Static Mental Challenge against the illusionist’s permanent Social Traits. Success on this challenge allows the character to see through the illusion (or hear through it, smell through it, etc.). The illusion does not automatically disappear if disbelieved, unless someone puts his or her hand through it, or otherwise shows it to be clearly unreal. Characters who have not disbelieved an illusion react to it as real in all ways (so a wall blocks passage, a knife feels sharp, and fire feels very hot and may provoke Rotschreck).

g.Apparition: You may give an illusion created with Apparition a new action or simple pattern to perform each round. This action may include transforming into something else, if desired, but if you do this in front of witnesses it may be grounds for disbelief. As long as you concentrate only on it, an illusion may interact with PCs or NPCs seamlessly as if it were a real person or animal. If you take any action that requires a challenge, your concentration is broken and the illusion simply repeats the last pattern you gave it. (The Elder power Fatuus Mastery removes this restriction.)

h.Permanency: At any time, a Chimerstry user may have a number of permanent Chimerstry items equal to her permanent Willpower. They must have item cards like any other item, and count toward the total regardless of which character is carrying them. Because Permanency “locks” the illusion into a particular shape, permanent Chimerstry items may only be changed with Apparition into other similar items. (So, for example, a Permanency shirt may be able to become a jacket or pants, but not a cat or a chair.) Each article of clothing counts as one item for the purposes of this total.

i.Horrid Reality: All of the challenges for Horrid Reality apply, regardless of the target's level of Auspex. (An exception to the Auspex vs. Chimerstry rule.) Horrid Reality cannot be used to dictate reality without engaging in challenges. Each turn the illusionist may make Social Challenge to have the illusion create a new effect on the target, such as being hit by a chimerical attacker or engulfed in flame. Damage from attacks created by Horrid Reality is equal to the normal damage such an attack would cause, such as a punch doing one level and a pistol doing two levels. Additional effects of attacks, such as staking, must be tested as normal. Where there is a question on the amount of damage done, consult a Narrator.

j.Horrid Reality can be useful for more than just inflicting damage. The power allows the Chimerstry user to show the target literally anything. This ability may be used to show the target a far-away place, to illustrate something the Ravnos has seen, to tell a story with the benefit of all five senses, to plunge the target into a horrific fantasy world, or really to take the target on any sort of illusionary journey the user wishes. A Social Challenge is still necessary for each new effect created unless the target relents.

November 2012


Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Sep. 20th, 2017 02:16 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios